Lupe Fiasco's new album is on its way, and it turns out that it's coming out even sooner than we expected. After initially saying Drogas Wave was set to drop on Sept. 28, Fiasco, who originally unloaded the tracklist and the album cover for the project that same day (Sept. 13), has upped his release date. Today, the rapper says that the recent leaking of his new LP changed has his plans for LP's launch date. It's now dropping this Friday, Sept. 21.

“I don’t know how the album got out, but it did. It’s my label and I can do what I want with the music so I’m making it available to my fans now,” Fiasco says of changing the release date for his new project.

Announcing the news on Twitter, Lupe thanked fans for helping him locate the sites pirating digital copies of Drogas Wave. "Big shout out to all the fans who helped keeped the leak from spreading too far and for sending us links to take down the pirates...I REALLY appreciate it," Lupe wrote in a now-deleted tweet. "Boxden & 4CHAN you broke my heart...when you see me in the streets just swing first, we’ll patch things up later."

Drogas Wave is a sequel to Lupe's 2017 album, Drogas Light. As is usually the case with a Lupe LP, there's more to the title than you might think.

Drogas Wave is based on a story about a group of slaves that jumped off of a slave ship transporting them from Africa,” Lupe says. “The slaves did not drown, and instead somehow managed to live under the sea. They spent the rest of their underwater existence sinking slave ships. ‘Drogas’ is the Spanish word for drugs. I made it an acronym which stands for ‘Don’t Ruin Us God Said.’”

Getting to the tracklist, it includes features from Damian Marley, Lupe's longtime collaborator Nikki Jean and more. It checks in at 24 tracks, so you should be expecting a heavy dose of bars.

Peep the artwork and tracklist for Lupe's new album.

Lupe Fiasco's Drogas Wave Tracklist

1. "In the Event of Typhoon"
2. "Drogas"
3. "Manilla"
4. "Gold vs. The Right Things To Do"
5. "Slave Ship (Interlude)"
6. "WAV Files"
7. "Down" featuring Nikki Jean
8.  "Haile Selassie" featuring Nikki Jean
9. "Alan Forever" featuring Crystal Torres
10. "Helter Skelter (Interlude)"
11. "Stronger" featuring Nikki Jean
12. "Sun God Sam & The California Drug Deals" featuring Nikki Jean
13. "XO" featuring Troi Irons
14. "Don’t Mess Up The Children (Interlude)"
15. "Jonylah Forever"
16. "Kingdom" featuring Damian Marley
17. "Baba Kwesi (Interlude)"
18. "Imagine" featuring Simon Sayz and Crystal Torres
19. "Stack That Cheese" featuring Nikki Jean
20. "Cripple" featuring Elena Pindehughes
21. "King Nas"
22. "Quotations From Chairman Fred" featuring Nikki Jean & Bishop Edgar Jackson
23. "Happy Timbuck2 Day"
24. "Mural Jr."

1st and 15th Productions, Inc.
1st and 15th Productions, Inc.

Here's the Ultimate Guide to Rappers With Acronyms in Their Name

More From Club 93.7