For the next couple of weeks, Michigan police plan to beef up patrols in an effort to bust drunk drivers. This initiative is part of a yearly crackdown against drunken holiday motorists, which were responsible for the deaths of nearly eight people last Fourth of July weekend.

Although this sobriety task force will not be extended to all parts of Michigan, reports indicate that Genesee County will be one of the areas strictly enforced.

"Last year in Michigan, 354 people died in an alcohol-related crash," said Melody Kindraka, with the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning. "Of the 19 traffic fatalities during the 2013 Fourth of July holiday, 40 percent involved alcohol."

Anyone busted for drinking and driving - first time offense - is likely to receive a penalty of up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. Not to mention, an offender’s driver’s license can be suspended for up to 180 days. Under Michigan’s “Super Drunk” law, the penalties are more severe for those motorists who test a BAC of .17 or higher.

If you are going to drink this holiday weekend, it truly is in your best interest to either find a designated driver or simply do what us old bastards do -- party at home.