The coronavirus pandemic has brought its share of confusion, conjecture, and rumors. One thing that has been clogging social media channels is concern that wearing a face mask interferes with one's ability to legally carry a concealed weapon in Michigan.

Club 93.7 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Governor Gretchen Whitmer made it mandatory that face coverings be worn in public places as of Monday (7/13) in Michigan.

A few social media posts have gone as far as to say that you can be arrested or fined for carrying a concealed weapon while wearing a face mask in Michigan.

That simply is not true.

One Michigan Sheriff's Department clarified the ruling in a Facebook post:

"The Sheriff's Office has been fielding several calls regarding carrying a concealed weapon and wearing a mask. There is nothing in the CPL statute for Michigan that makes it a crime to carry a weapon in compliance with a CPL while wearing a mask. Bottom line-you are not breaking the law if lawfully carrying a concealed weapon and wearing a mask."

Wearing a mask to conceal one's identity in order to commit a crime, however, is a different story.

Michigan Penal Code Act 328 of 1931 states: “A person who intentionally conceals his or her identity by wearing a mask or other device covering his or her face for the purpose of facilitating the commission of a crime is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.”


CHECK IT OUT: How To Unlock Your iPhone With Your Voice

More From Club 93.7